The Department of Surgery celebrates its 40th Annual Collins Surgical Day

May 23, 2019

performing surgeryOn May 10, the Department of Surgery hosted its annual resident research day at the University of Ottawa Skills and Simulation Centre. The day opened with introductory remarks from Drs. Sudhir Sundaresan, Bernard Jasmin, Duncan Stewart, and Andrew Seely. Dr. Michael West from the Section of Neurosurgery at the University of Manitoba gave an outstanding presentation on “Fostering Healthy Learning Environments: Lessons Learned.”

The department introduced a new electronic poster format affording all trainees the opportunity to present orally to a full audience. Many audience members and reviewers took the time to provide constructive feedback through the CollinsDay app. Their outstanding participation was recognized by being entered into prize draws held throughout the day. The top per capita participating divisions were also recognized, with General Surgery residents earning a pizza party and Thoracic Surgery faculty earning coffee and snacks at divisional rounds.

Top Oral Presentations:

W.E. Collins Award for Best Research Presentation

Dr. Laura Baker

Phlebotomy resulting in controlled hypovolemia to prevent blood loss in major hepatic resections (PRICE-1): a feasibility randomized controlled trial

Graeme Barber Award for Best Clinical Research Presentation

Dr. Derek Roberts

Type of Anesthesia For Lower Extremity Arterial Revascularization Surgery: A Population-Based Comparative Effectiveness Study

John P. Collins Award for Best Translational Research Presentation

Dr. Thomas Skinner

Novel cooling device for kidney transplant surgery

Best Education Research Presentation

Dr. Nada Gawad

My On Call (MOC) Pager App: Practicing and assessing safe clinical decision-making

Best QI Research Presentation

Dr. James Ross

Reducing surgical site infections in patients undergoing radical cystectomy using wound protection

Top Electronic Poster Presentations:

Best Translational Research Poster

Dr. Diana Ghinda

Electrophysiological signature of tumoral tissue from frequency and time frequency analysis of intra-operative electrocorticography during awake craniotomy

Best Quality Improvement Poster

Dr. Richard Gilbert

Improving the identification and treatment of pre-operative anemia in patients undergoing elective bowel resection

Best Education Research Poster

Dr. Julia Younan

Comparing two approaches to residency application file review

Best Clinical Research Poster

Dr. Andrew Adamczyk

The Ottawa Pelvic Fracture Protocol? A 5-year review of hemodynamically unstable pelvic fractures at The Ottawa Hospital

Top Medical Student Presentation:

Best Medical Student Research Poster

Heidi Li

Symptomatic bowel complications in metastatic cancer patients: Comparison of surgical vs medical outcomes and development of a prediction model for successful surgical palliation

Collins Day Awards from the Office of Education:

Dr. Wilbert Keon Leadership Award

Dr. Thierry Mesana

Achiever Award  
Dr. Fady Balaa, General Surgery

Leadership Award  
Dr. Richard Moulton, Neurosurgery

Excellence in Teaching Award 
Dr. Sudhir Nagpal, Vascular Surgery
Dr. Braden Gammon, Orthopaedic Surgery

Farid Shamji Outstanding Resident Teacher Award  
Dr. James Holden, General Surgery
Dr. Alexandre Tran, General Surgery
Dr. Matthew Mosseler, General Surgery

Phoenix Award for Outstanding Commitment to Community Service  
Dr. Sean Bennett, General Surgery

Department of Surgery Research Committee:

Dr. Andrew Seely (Thoracic Surgery) – Committee Chair, Dr. Sudhir Sundaresan (Thoracic Surgery) - DoS Chair, Dr. Rebecca Auer (General Surgery) - Translational Research, Dr. Rodney Breau (Urology) - Clinical Research, Dr. Erin Cordeiro (General Surgery) - Quality Improvement Research, Dr. Isabelle Raiche (General Surgery) - Education Research, Dr. Fahad AlKherayf (Neurosurgery), Dr. Angel Arnaout (General Surgery), Dr. Ilias Cagiannos (Urology), Dr. Juan Grau (Cardiac Surgery), Dr. Prasad Jetty (Vascular Surgery), Dr. Peter Lapner (Orthopedic Surgery), Dr. Claudia Malic (Plastic Surgery), Christine Seabrook (Resident Research), Jennifer Artz PhD (Research Program Manager)


Department of Surgery Abstract and Presentation Reviewers:

Hesham Abdelbary

Jad Abou Khalil

Fahad AlKherayf

Angel Arnaout

Rebecca Auer

Fady Balaa

Kimberly Bertens

Tim Brandys

Erin Cordeiro

Geoff Dervin

Johanna Dobransky

Robert Feibel

Simon Frank

Sebastien Gilbert

Peter Glen

Wade Gofton

Duane Hickling

Prasad Jetty

Peter Lapner

Luke Lavallee

John Mahoney

Guillaume Martel

Donna Maziak

Safraz Mohammed

Moein Momtazi

Stuart Oake

Dennis Pitt

Amanda Roberts

Matthew Roberts

Gloria Rockwell

Neal Rowe

Andrew Seely

Farid Shamji

Julie Trudel

Eugene Wai

Jeff Warren

Joel Werier

Lara Williams

JIng Zhang


Department of Surgery Collins Surgical Day Organizing Committee:

Dr. Andrew Seely, Christine Seabrook, Jennifer Artz, Laura Gerridzen, and Marika Valle

For more information about Collins Surgical Day:

Next year’s event: Friday, May 15, 2020

Collins Surgical Day Industry Supporters:

Tags: Surgery