Outstanding research on display at the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute’s first virtual Research Day

November 20, 2020

The Ottawa Hospital Research Institute’s 20th annual Research Day was a great success, with 375 people joining the virtual event. Designed to highlight and celebrate the outstanding work of trainees and promote scientific interaction, the event featured 142 posters, 20 oral presentations, and six finalists in the Elevator Pitch Competition.

Drs. Paul Albert, Justin Presseau and Duncan Stewart set the stage with introductory remarks. Dr. Josef Penninger, Dr. Julie Bruneau, Marie Lapointe, and David Cook inspired with their keynote talks.

Prizes were awarded to the following trainees:

Oral Presentation Competition

Clinical: Faizan Khan (Dean Fergusson group) Risk of Major Bleeding Among Patients Receiving Extended Oral Anticoagulant Therapy for First Unprovoked Venous Thromboembolism: A Systematic Review and Meta-Analysis Co-authors: Tobias Tritschler, Miriam Kimpton, Philip S. Wells, Clive Kearon, Jeffrey I. Weitz, Harry R. Büller, Gary E. Raskob, Walter Ageno, Francis Couturaud, Paolo Prandoni, Gualtiero Palareti, Cristina Legnani, Paul A. Kyrle, Sabine Eichinger, Lisbeth Eischer, Cecilia Becattini, Giancarlo Agnelli, Maria Cristina Vedovati, Geert-Jan Geersing, Binilde Cosmi, Drahomir Aujesky, Letizia Marconi, Antonio Palla, Sergio Siragusa, Charlotte A. Bradbury, Sameer Parpia, Ranjeeta Malick, Anthonie W. A. Lensing, Martin Gebel, Michael A. Grosso, Brian Hutton, Gregoire Le Gal, Dean A. Fergusson, and Marc A. Rodger for the MAJESTIC Collaborators

1st: Adam Pietrobon (William Stanford group) Loss of TSC1 or TSC2 drives lineage infidelity and hamartoma formation in a renal organoid model of angiomyolipoma. Co-authors: Delaney, SP; Doré, C; Yockell-Lelievre, J; Julian, L; Stanford, WL

2nd: Haley Geertsma (Maxime Rousseaux group) Characterizing the novel Snca-NLS-Flag mouse model to study the neurotoxic effects of nuclear alpha-synuclein Co-authors: Konrad M. Ricke, Steve M. Callaghan & Maxime W.C. Rousseaux

3rd: Grace Fox (Manoj Lalu & Dean Fergusson group) Patient Engagement in Preclinical Laboratory Research: A Scoping ReviewCo-authors: Dean A. Fergusson, Madison Foster, Zeinab Daham, Mark Youssef, Evelyn Poole, Dawn P. Richards, Kathryn Hendrick, Kirsten Fiest, Asher Mendelson, Kimberly Macala, Zarah Monfaredi, Joshua Montroy, Justin Presseau, Manoj M. Lalu

Elevator Pitch Competition

Winner: Chanèle Cyr-Depauw (Bernard Thébaud group) Captain Repair to the rescue of preemies!

Audience pick:  Chanèle Cyr-Depauw (Bernard Thébaud group) Captain Repair to the rescue of preemies!

Postdoctoral and Clinical Fellow Poster Competition

Clinical: Robert Myette (supervised by Dylan Burger) Arterial Hypertension in Childhood Nephrotic Syndrome. Co-authors: Dylan Burger, Pavel Geier, Janusz Feber

1st: Marie Marotel (Michele Ardolino group) The inhibitory receptor LAG3 marks a subset of exhausted Natural Killer Cells. Co-authors: Marie Marotel, Cynthia Chan, Maria Park, Ayad Ali, Shaad Hasim, Jonathan Hodgins, Serena Cortes Kaplan, S.H. Lee, Stephen Waggoner, Michele Ardolino

2nd: Manisha Jalan (Marjorie Brand group) Chromatin cross-talk in TLX1 mediated T-ALL. Co-authors: Thomas Olender, Marjorie Brand

3rd: Nikolas Martin (John Bell group) An oncolytic vaccinia virus encoding virus-like-particles and self-amplifying RNA replicons: Teaching new tricks to an old virus. Co-authors: Azad, T; Crupi, MJF; Pugliese, G; Singaravelu, R, Tucker, S, Ilkow, CS & Bell, JC

PhD Student Poster Competition

Clinical: Emily Hladkowicz (supervised by Jordan Miller and Daniel McIsaac) Postoperative transitions in care for older adults with frailty: understanding patient and caregiver priorities. Co-authors: Daniel I McIsaac, Flavia Dumitrascu, Soha Abdellatif, Mohammad Auis, Jordan Miller

1st: Zaid Taha (Jean-Simon Diallo group) Generating a new immunocompetent mouse model of human HER2+ breast cancer for evaluation of a novel anti-HER2 combination strategy. Co-authors: Nouf Alluqmani, Keara Sutherland, Mathieu Crupi, Andrew Chen, Rozanne Arulanandam, Jean-Simon Diallo

2nd: Valerie Cardin (David Picketts group) Defining the role of Atrx chromatin remodeler in the developing brain. Co-authors: David Picketts

3rd: Min Zhang (Paul Albert group) Direct Serotonin System Stimulation via Optogenetics as Treatment for Post-Stroke Depression in a Mouse Model. Co-authors: Faranak Vahid-Ansari, Paul Albert

4th: Michaela Lunn (Michael Schlossmacher group) Examining the role of LRRK2 in immune modulation of brain health. Co-authors: Bojan Shutinoski, Quinton Hake-Volling, Mansoureh Hakimi, Julianna J. Tomlinson, Earl G. Brown, Michael Schlossmacher

Master’s Student and Poster Competition

Clinical: Valerie Testa (Supervised by Jeff Jutai and Simon Hatcher) Applying the Theoretical Domains Framework to identify police, fire, and paramedic preferences for accessing mental health care in a First Responder Operational Stress Injury Clinic: A qualitative study. Co-authors: Alexandria Bennett, Zachary Cantor, R. Nicholas Carleton, Ian Colman, Peter Burke, James McMahon, Alexandra Heber, Shannon Leduc, Daniel J. Corsi, Deniz Fikretoglu, Marnin J. Heisel, Kednapa Thavorn, Simon Hatcher

1st: Keara Sutherland (Jean-Simon Diallo group) Development of Novel Oncolytic VSV Expressing Viral Sensitizing-Like Effector Proteins. Co-authors: Mohsen Hooshyar, Andrew Chen, Rozanne Arulanandam, Jean-Simon Diallo

2nd: Margarita Lui (Jing Wang group) AMPK inhibitor Compound C promotes ischemia-activated pericyte reprogramming by facilitating Sox2 nuclear import. Co-authors: Charvi Syal, Sailendra Sarma, Kaela O'Connor, Matthew Seegobin, Jing Wang

3rd: Maria Madana (Michael Rudnicki group) Modulating human embryonic stem cell-derived satellite-like cell division with wnt7a and epidermal growth factor/ Co-authors: Morten Ritso, Julien Yockell-Lelievre, Ricardo Carmona, Michael Rudnicki

4th: Emily Brown (Carolina Ilkow & John Bell) CoV-NanoBiT, a Nanoluciferase Complementation-Based Biosensor to Rapidly Probe Coronavirus Receptor Recognition. Co-authors: Taha Azad, Ragunath Singaravelu, Zaid Taha, Rozanne Arulanandam, Stephen Boulton, Jean-Simon Diallo, Carolina S. Ilkow, John C. Bell

Resident Poster Competition

1st Robert Frank (supervised by Matthew McInnes) Reporting Bias in Imaging Diagnostic Accuracy Research: Update on Recent Evidence. Co-authors: Lindsay Cherpak, Lee Treanor, Anahita Dehmoobad Sharifabadi, Daniel Korevaar, Trevor A McGrath, Jean-Paul Salameh, Patrick MM Bossuyt, Matthew DF McInnes

2nd William Phillips (supervised by Bryan Lo) Neuroendocrine Differentiation Distinguishes Basaloid Variant of Lung Squamous Cell Carcinomas. Co-authors: Kianoosh Keyhanian, Benjamin S Yeung, Marcio Gomes, Bryan Lo, Harmanjatinder S Sekhon

3rd Alan Zhou (supervised by Catherine Ivory) Use of Subcutaneous Immunoglobulin in Connective Tissue Disease: A Literature Review. Co-authors: Nancy Maltez, Catherine Ivory

Undergraduate Poster Competition

Mathieu McKinnon (supervised by Kuan-Chin Chen) Care Gap Analysis and Development of Care Pathway to Optimize Management of Early Pregnancy Complications. Co-authors: K. Jean Chen, Anita Pozgay, Samuel Wilson, Celina DeBiasio, Mathieu McKinnon, Glenda Clapham, Samantha Calder-Sprackman, Jessica Dy, Edmund Kwok

Research Day Committee and Volunteers:

Dr. Paul Albert (Co-chair), Dr. Justin Presseau (Co-chair), Dr. Jay Baltz, Laura Baker, Amelia Buchanan, Dr. Angela Crawley, Jaahnavi Dave, Jenn Ganton, Leah Labib, Dr. Ian Lorimer, Dr. Tim Ramsay, Dr. Luc Sabourin, Dr. Duncan Stewart, Jennifer Valentino, Mike Hendley, Nicol Lum, Melanie Genereaux, Mathieu Crupi