Promising initial results in CIHR’s Foundation grant competition

December 10, 2014

Thirteen scientists from the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute have been shortlisted for prestigious Foundation grants from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). The short-listed applicants (and their areas of research) include: Drs. Shawn Aaron (lung disease), Rebecca Auer (perioperative cancer therapies), Jeff Dilworth (muscle regeneration), Dar Dowlatshahi (stroke), Dean Fergusson (transfusion epidemiology), Ian Graham (knowledge translation), Jeremy Grimshaw (implementation of evidence-based care), Greg Knoll (kidney transplantation), Lynn Megeney (protein aggregation diseases), Bill Stanford (stem cells), Duncan Stewart (blood vessel regeneration), Ian Stiell (emergency medicine) and Bernard Thébaud (lung regeneration).

The Ottawa Hospital Research Institute’s success rate in this round of the competition is 43%, compared to the national average of 34%. In addition, Dr. Duncan Stewart was the only scientist (among 1,366 applicants) to score a perfect 100%. CIHR’s new Foundation grants are meant to provide long term (5-7 year) support Canada’s top research leaders. Final results are expected this summer.

Ottawa Hospital Research Institute

The Ottawa Hospital Research Institute is the research arm of The Ottawa Hospital and is an affiliated institute of the University of Ottawa, closely associated with its faculties of Medicine and Health Sciences. The Ottawa Hospital Research Institute includes more than 1,700 scientists, clinical investigators, graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and staff conducting research to improve the understanding, prevention, diagnosis and treatment of human disease. Support our research. Give to the Tender Loving Research campaign.

For further information, please contact

Paddy Moore
Communications and Public Relations
Ottawa Hospital Research Institute
Office: 613-737-8899 x73687
Cell: 613-323-5680